E-interview with Anne-Mari

We had the pleasure of working with this up and coming artist on her album design and photo shoot, and we had so much fun – we decided to do a mini-interview with her.

1. ) You have recently released your first album, tell us some more about it.
My album has just been released and I feel so blessed and grateful to all the people who have worked so hard to make it an album that I am very proud of. There are 10 new songs on the album, all of them arranged by Jonathan Peyper who is an excellent blues singer/songwriter.
2.) Which of the songs on the album especially relates to your life?
There are actually a few songs on the album that relates to my life or certain aspects of my life: the first song would be “Special day” – in 2010 my son passed away and as most musicians, I write songs to deal with those emotions. During the emotional recovery process, I wrote this song for him to let him know that even though I can not be with him, I will always love him.
The second song would  be “Feë Verhaal”, this is a song about me as a child dreaming about my knight in shining armor, and then finding my Knight , who is now my husband, my rock, and my best friend. This song was written for him.
“Vat jou kans” is definitely the song that relates  the most to my life –  I have made so many mistakes in my life and sometimes I wonder where I would have been if I had made the right choices? But at the end…you can’t change the past, only your future, but you must be willing to take that step.
3.) If you could, who’s songs would you most like to cover, and why?
I wouldn’t really like to cover the songs of any body specific as each artist has his or her own identity. Some old time favorites are however always a crowd pleaser and therefore if I chose to do any covers, it will be something that the crowd can sing along to.
4.) Where can we be expecting to see you n the near future?
I will be performing with a live band at Tincups in Witbank (Emahlahleni) on the 4th of April. 
31 July, I will also be performing with the band at The Pub in Nelspruit.
5.) How can people contact you, or hear your work?
Please go and like my page (Anne-Mari Official), or add me on facebook (Anne-Mari Kunstenaar) or contact Michael White at 076 429 1003, michael@pro-vocal.co.za to for any bookings. My album can be ordered directly from me and as of the 1st of April it will be available on iTunes.
6.) Lastly, but not least, what was your favorite aspect of working with Blue Blood Photography?
Working with BB photography was so amazing and I cannot thank Shaun and Marlee enough for everything that they have done. I came to them with an idea in my head and they created something that was even better than I could ever imagine. Being a performer, I am by no means a model and they made me feel so comfortable, I had so much fun on the day of the photo shoot.  We were working under immense pressure to get the album finished and within such a short time frame they produced excellent edited photographs for the album. I would highly recommend BB photography to assist with all your photographic needs. They are the best.

Thank you, Anne-Mari for your time and wonderful review of our part in this journey. We wish you all the best and look forward to working on many more projects with you.
One thought on “E-interview with Anne-Mari

Leave a Reply

